Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO)

The LAFCO is comprised of seven commissioners with designated alternates. Two commissioners each are appointed by the Mono County Board of Supervisors, Town of Mammoth Lakes, and Special District Selection Committee (comprised of independent special districts). One commissioner representing the general public is appointed by the remaining LAFCO commissioners.

The LAFCO is staffed by the Mono County Community Development Department and funded jointly by: Mono County; Town of Mammoth Lakes; and Mammoth Community Water District/ Southern Mono Healthcare District. Commission activities include municipal service reviews, sphere of influence updates, and policy/procedure development.

Meeting Time: The Mono LAFCO meets the second Thursday in April, June, and other months as needed at 3 p.m.

Mono County Civic Center, Dana Room (2nd Floor) 
1290 Tavern Road 
Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546