## Mono County Local Agency Formation Commission

PO Box 347 Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 760.924.1800, fax 924.1801 commdev@mono.ca.gov PO Box 8 Bridgeport, CA 93517 760.932.5420, fax 932.5431 www.monocounty.ca.gov

June 20, 2018

To: All Independent Special Districts in Mono County

## Re: Nominations for two Special District Regular Members and one alternate Special District Member to serve on LAFCO

The Mono County Local Agency Formation Commission invites nominations from your district to fill two regular and one alternate Special District positions on LAFCO. The two regular and one alternate member terms would run until May 2022.

The LAFCO meets as needed on the first Wednesday of the month. LAFCO's purposes include discouraging urban sprawl, preserving open space and prime agricultural lands, efficiently providing government services, and encouraging the orderly formation and development of local agencies based upon local conditions and circumstances.

In accordance with the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000, nominations should be submitted in writing to:

Mono County LAFCO PO Box 347 Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546

The nominations and election process will be conducted by mail. Each Special District may submit nominations in writing. Candidates for these positions must be elected or appointed by Special District officers residing within the county. Nominations must be received at the LAFCO offices by **July 31**, **2018**. Nominations received after that date will not be considered.

Once nominations have been received, the Executive Officer will prepare a ballot and mail one copy to each Special District, along with voting instructions. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will be appointed as regular members, and the next-highest candidate will be the alternate.

Your consideration of potential candidates is appreciated. If you have any questions, please call CD Ritter, LAFCO secretary, at 760-924-1804 or email at <u>cdritter@mono.ca.gov</u>

Sincerely,

Gerry Le Francois Executive Officer