
Mono County Process Server 

Information and Forms 

A Process Server is defined as any person who makes more than 10 services of process within 
California during one calendar year, for specific compensation or in expectation of specific 
compensation. Process Servers shall file a Certificate of Registration with the county clerk of the 
county in which he or she resides or has his or her principal place of business. Any corporation 
or partnership that derives or expects to derive compensation from service of process within 
California shall also file a Certificate of Registration as a Process Server with the county clerk of 
the county in which the corporation or partnership has its principal place of business. Per 
California Business & Professions Code §22351, to register as an individual, you must have 
resided in California for at least one year immediately preceding the date of filing, and you must 
not have an existing felony conviction. If registering as a corporation, partnership or other 
business entity, the entity must have been organized and in existence continuously for a period 
of at least one year immediately preceding the date of filing, and no general partner, corporate 
officer or other officer/manager can have a felony conviction. 

WHO MUST REGISTER (B&P §22350) 

Any person who makes 10 or more services of process within one calendar year will be required 
to register as a Natural Person (individual). If any partner or corporate officer makes more than 
10 services of process in one calendar year, a separate registration form for each individual is 
required. See above-referenced code section for exceptions. 

REGISTRATION FORM (B&P §22351 and §22354) 

A Certificate of Registration form for a Natural Person (individual), Partnership or Corporation 
must be completed and signed under penalty of perjury. The Certificate of Registration is 
effective for two years or until the expiration of the bond, whichever occurs first. 

FEES (B&P §22352) 

The fee for Process Server registration is $120, which includes a temporary and permanent ID 
card, and the recording fee for a one-page bond. If the bond has additional pages, each 
additional page will add $3.00 to the total fee. 

FINGERPRINTS (B&P §22351.5) 

For each initial registration of, or renewal after the expiration date of, 1) a Natural Person, 2) 
each General Partner of a Partnership, or c) each Corporate Officer of a Corporation, applicant 
must complete a Request for Live Scan form prior to having the Live Scan processed at either 
the Mono County Sheriff's Office or Mammoth Lakes Police Department. 

BOND (B&P §22353) 

A Process Server bond in the amount of $2,000, executed by an admitted surety insurer and 
conditioned upon compliance with the provisions of California Business & Professions Code 
§§22350-22360, must be submitted at the time of filing. The bond must specify the term (dates) 
of coverage. The fee for canceling, revoking, or withdrawing the bond is $7.00. 

PHOTOGRAPH REQUIRED FOR ID CARD (B&P §22355) 

Provide a digital photo that is 2" x 2" for registration of a Natural Person, or Registrations by a 
Partnership or Corporation will receive one ID card, without a photo, in the name of the 
Partnership or Corporation. 



TEMPORARY ID CARD (B&P §22355) 

The county clerk shall issue a temporary identification card to applicants who are required to 
submit Request for Live Scan forms for background checks to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation and the Department of Justice. This card shall be valid for 120 days. If clearance is 
received from the FBI and DOJ within 120 days, the county clerk shall immediately issue a 
permanent identification card. 

RENEWAL INFORMATION (B&P §22351.5 and §22354) 

A Certificate of Registration is effective for a period of two years or until the date the bond 
expires, whichever occurs first. The renewal can take place up to 60 days prior to its expiration 
date and the effective date of the renewal will be the date of the current expiration. As long as 
the renewal takes place on or before the expiration date, the registration number will remain the 
same, and a new, completed Live Scan form, signed and dated by the Live Scan operator, will 
not be required. All remaining requirements will apply (i.e. completed Certificate of Registration, 
bond, photographs, and fee). 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REGISTRANT 

1. Complete the Request for Live Scan form prior to having the Live Scan done at the Mono 
County Sheriff's Office in Bridgeport or Mammoth Lakes Police Department. 
• Make 3 copies: 1 for Applicant, 1 for Live Scan operator, and 1 for County Clerk. 
• A copy of the completed Live Scan form (signed and dated by the Live Scan operator) 

confirming fingerprint submission to the Department of Justice and FBI must be 
submitted with the Certificate of Registration. 

• Contact the Sheriff's Office or Police Department to find out, 1) their schedule form 
processing Live Scans, and 2) the fee for the Live Scan process. 

• Mono County Sheriff's Office, 25 Emigrant Street, Bridgeport 
 760-932-7549 

• Mammoth Lakes Police Department, 568 Old Mammoth Road 
 760-934-2011 

• Additional information about the process can be found on the California Attorney 
General's website: http://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints. 

2. Complete the Certificate of Registration in the presence of the County Clerk or Clerk's 
designee. Please be prepared to show a photo ID. 
• The certificate must be printed in black ink. 
• All information must be provided. 

3. Submit the following along with the completed Certificate of Registration: 
• Copy of Request for Live Scan signed and dated by the Live Scan operator, bond, 

photographs and fee. (Note: As outlined above, applicant may submit the required 
photograph via email). 

4. While waiting for clearance from the FBI and DOJ, a temporary ID card, valid for 120 days, 
will be issued. A permanent ID card will be issued upon clearance from the FBI and DOJ. 

 


